A question about stepping / potential new school for me.

Tim's Discussion Board: Ba Gua Zhang : A question about stepping / potential new school for me.
   By Conal O'Keefe (Unregistered Guest) on Monday, May 31, 2004 - 08:02 pm: Edit Post

Hello all,

I studied Baguazhang from a man for about 9 months. I learned a lot of fundamentals. Stepping, Qigong, relaxation and starting on fluidity. Didn't quite get to learning the Palms (though as I've moved on I see a lot of movements from the palms in the qigong and health forms etc he taught me). I left the school for personal reasons and have been floundering since. Every few months I will get a burst of determination and start my daily circle.

So now I find myself with a chance to study at a school with a Name. He has awards and writing credits. Is credited on a book I'm sure you know of, but I worry. I took a class with him Friday to check it out. Being in class with other students was wonderfull. But when the class did their Eight Palms everyone was spinning on their heels. The teacher wants you to spin as many rotations as possible when you do a palm change.

Is this more of a wushu style? I'm sure that doing this will help you from getting dizzy later on, but I am interested in genuine transmission and combat effectiveness and am worried that if this is what I sow, I will not reap proper technique from it.

My question I suppose is: Is there a justifiable reason for spinning on your heels during training? Should I just trust that he knows what he is doing and "empty my cup?"

thank you for any advice
conal.

By Mark Hatfield (Unregistered Guest) on Monday, May 31, 2004 - 09:37 pm: Edit Post

Why not ask him?

By Tim on Tuesday, June 01, 2004 - 12:40 am: Edit Post

Conal,
Which style of Baguazhang is it?

By Michael Andre Babin on Tuesday, June 01, 2004 - 10:01 am: Edit Post